Drop-Box Only Services for Motor Vehicle

Frequently asked questions regarding the Motor Vehicle 'Drop-Box' service put in place due to COVID-19 outbreak:

How do I renew my tabs?

  1. I have my Minnesota Registration Renewal Notice:
    1. Complete ALL highlighted areas on the Registration Renewal Notice as shown here (PDF).
  2. I do NOT have my Minnesota Registration Renewal Notice:
    1. Complete ALL highlighted areas on the Registration Renewal Request as shown here (PDF).

Please enclose the above documents in an envelope with your payment and put in the drop-box at the front entrance of the Courthouse. We will process within 48 hrs and mail it out to you.

How do I transfer a Minnesota title?

  1. Complete ALL highlighted areas (front & back) on the Minnesota Title as shown here (PDF).
  2. Registration tax is calculated here: https://mnlars.dvs.dps.mn.gov/online/#/regTaxCalculator (Note: This only applies if the MN Vehicle is needing renewed registration, do not complete this step if the tabs are current)
  3. Plate fees are as follows: $8.00 for a standard plate (Passenger and 1-ton) OR $6.00 for a trailer plate. (Note: This only applies if the MN Vehicle is missing the plates, do not complete this step if vehicle is displaying MN plates)
  4. Wheelage Tax is determined by the County in which the Vehicle is kept. Please choose this link to determine if your vehicle is subject to said amount: https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/Pages/Wheelage-Tax.aspx (Note: This only applies if the MN Vehicle is being renewed with the title transfer, do not complete this step if the registration on vehicle is current)
  5. Lien Fee is 2.00 IF APPLICABLE  (If you have a loan this fee IS due)
  6. Sales Tax is Due on the net purchase price of the vehicle unless the purchase is exempt from sales tax or qualifies for an in lieu tax:
    1. $10 in lieu – charged on passenger vehicles, ten model years or older, when the purchase price and fair market value is under $3,000.
    2. $150 in lieu - charged on passenger class vehicles and fire trucks registered in a collector class.
  7. Late Transfer Penalty $2.00 and IS due when transaction is not processed within 10 business days of the date of sale.

Please enclose the above documents in an envelope with your payment and put in the drop-box at the front entrance of the Courthouse. We will process within 48 hrs and mail it out to you.

How do I transfer an out-of-state title?

  1. Complete ALL highlighted areas on the PS2000 as shown here (PDF).
  2. Registration tax is calculated here: https://mnlars.dvs.dps.mn.gov/online/#/regTaxCalculator
  3. Plate fees are as follows: $8.00 for a standard plate (Passenger and 1-ton) OR $6.00 for a trailer plate.
  4. Wheelage Tax is determined by the County in which the Vehicle is kept. Please choose this link to determine if your vehicle is subject to said amount: https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/Pages/Wheelage-Tax.aspx
  5. Lien Fee is 2.00 IF APPLICABLE  (If you have a loan this fee IS due)
  6. Sales Tax is Due on the net purchase price of the vehicle unless the purchase is exempt from sales tax or qualifies for an in lieu tax:
    1. $10 in lieu – charged on passenger vehicles, ten model years or older, when the purchase price and fair market value is under $3,000.
    2. $150 in lieu - charged on passenger class vehicles and fire trucks registered in a collector class.
  7. Late Transfer Penalty $2.00 and IS due when transaction is not processed within 10 business days of the date of sale.

Please enclose the above documents in an envelope with your payment and put in the drop-box at the front entrance of the Courthouse. We will process within 48 hrs and mail it out to you.

Can I renew my Driver's License?

Emergency Executive Order 20-25 Authorizing Peace Officers, Firefighters, and Security-Related Licensing Boards to Modify Requirements During the COVID-19 Peacetime Emergency I, Tim Walz, Governor of the State of Minnesota, by the authority vested in me by the Constitution and applicable statutes, issue the following Executive Order:

  3. I authorize the Minnesota Board of Private Detectives and Protective Agent Services to temporarily suspend the license renewal period as prescribed in Minnesota Statutes 2019, section 326.3383. Such licenses will go into a contingent status and remain in contingent status until 60 days after the termination of the peacetime emergency declared in Executive Order 20-01, to the extent that this section requires license holders to submit renewal applications to the board for review and approval.  

DPD-DVS Offices Closed; Driver's License Extensions Granted; REAL ID Deadline Extended

DPS-DVS exam stations and driver's license agent offices are closed until May 4 due to COVID-19 concerns. New federal guidelines (PDF) allow deputy registrar offices to provide limited motor vehicle services if they choose.

Minnesotans will not have access to a number of services, including renewing driver's licenses or ID cards, during this time. Any driver's license or ID card that expires during the peacetime emergency is extended for two months after the month the peacetime emergency ends thanks to a bill Gov. Walz signed into law March 28. The U.S. Department of Homeland Security extended the REAL ID full enforcement deadline to Oct. 1, 2021. Answers to frequently asked questions are available on the DVS website.

What this means for you: All Driver's License status will remain valid for 60 days AFTER the Peacetime Emergency ends. At this time, there are very limited Driver's License Services through St. Paul office ONLY. Please visit the MN DPS Frequently Asked Questions.