To begin the child foster care licensing process, complete the 4 forms available below.
Return completed forms to Becker County Human Services:
Forms can be dropped off, mailed, or emailed:
Becker County Human Services
ATTN: CFC Licensing
712 Minnesota Ave
Detroit Lakes, MN 56501
Email: Child Protection Intake
Once the above forms are received, the licensor will call you to schedule a home visit to discuss the process, set up orientation,
provide additional paperwork, and go through the Home
Safety Checklist (PDF) with you. For additional information review the
Sheet - Single Family Dwelling, Child, and Adult Foster Care (PDF) from the Minnesota
State Department of Public Safety Fire Marshal website.
We will also conduct interviews with your family in order to get to know you and share further information about child foster care. This whole
process is called a home study and is required by the Minnesota
Foster Care Rule (PDF) and the Department of Human Services.
Six hours of licensing orientation is required prior to becoming licensed. This can be done via group orientation sessions,
individual sessions, and home visits. The licensor will provide you with information on how to complete these trainings. In addition, the
following trainings are required for foster parents before licensed:
- An Overview of Children's Mental Health (2 hours).
- Normalcy, Reasonable and Prudent Parenting Standards (1 hr).
- Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (1 hr within the first 12 months of being licensed).
- If providing foster care to those eight and younger, CHILD AND RESTRAINT SAFETY TRAINING (CARS) (3 hours), this training is also
required for anyone else you will be allowing to transport foster children.
- Abusive Head Trauma (AHT) and Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID) training is a required preservice training for foster parents
of any child under age five.
Additional Paperwork and Requirements
- State Fire Marshall Division’s fire inspection of your home is required if you are being licensed for more than three foster children,
have a free standing solid fuel heating appliance, child will be sleeping in a room 50% or more below ground level, or the agency has
- Policies: Discipline Policy, Complaint/Grievance Policy, Drug and Alcohol Policy
- Statement of Intended Use
- Foster Parent Agreement Form
- Floor and Escape Plan
- A well test, if you have a well
- Home Safety Checklist
- Pets with be up to date on immunizations, a copy of their record must be provided to the agency
Additional Paperwork and Requirements
The licensing process can take up to six months. There may be things you need to do to bring your house into compliance. The timeliness of
this process depends on a lot of variables, most importantly, your eagerness to complete the licensing process. Once the licensing and home
study is completed, which takes an average of 3-4 visits (office interviews and home visits); the licensor reviews all of the application
materials and makes a determination to recommend approval or denial of you the applicant's request for licensure.
The State Division of Licensing will respond to the recommendation and if approved, will send a license directly to the applicant. This
generally takes a few weeks once the Department of Human Services office in St. Paul receives it. If a license request is denied, a letter
will be sent to you within a few weeks that will include an appeal process.
An application can be withdrawn by the applicant at any time throughout the licensing process. However, if you decide to withdraw because
of a failed background study, the licensor will have to recommend to the Department of Human Services, a denial of your application.
If the foster care license is denied, it could prevent you from obtaining a foster care license in Minnesota for a 2-year period.